Postgraduate Researcher of NYC Public Schools - looking for connections!

Hi, my name is Julia Cabanas and I am an Architecture postgraduate student at the University of Cambridge, UK. I am researching the NYC public school system, the city’s issues with segregation and education inequity, and the way some of these issues can be addressed through architecture and urban design. I am focusing specifically on Harlem schools, but will also be looking at the rest of the city in my research. I first encountered NYCEDU at the SPARK conference a few weeks ago.

I am due to stay in NYC for 10 weeks in the summer from 20th July 2019 for fieldwork, and I would love to start making connections with educators, activists, policymakers and anyone who has had experience with the New York public school system. I am also keen to make connections with designers and architects! I’d love to spend my time volunteering or engaging with the community somehow, so if anyone has any suggestions for contacts / initiatives I would be very grateful!

Thanks so much.

Research: http://cambridge-design-research-studio.com/projects/segregated-schools-in-harlem/

Email: jc843@cam.ac.uk

1 Like

Hi and welcome!

Here are some leads to follow.

The AIANY Architecture for Education Committee is the local affiliate of AIA National’s CAE. The committee provides and organizes events where architects, educators, educational administrators, and the public can meet and exchange ideas to promote better educational facilities of all kinds.

See Architecture for Education — AIA New York

The Harlem Renaissance Education Pipeline is a Cradle to Career Collective Impact Partnership made up of a cross-sector of organizations working together to improve outcomes for families and students in Central and West Harlem.

See https://hrepinc.org/

Research them and let me know if you want any specific introductions.

designing the WE, a social impact design studio that worked on Undesign the Red Line